3. Formation of new States and alteration of areas, boundaries or names of existing States.-
Parliament may by law-  (a)  form a new State by separation of territory from any State or  by uniting  two  or  more  States or parts of States or  by  uniting  any territory to a part of any State;       (b) increase the area of any State;       (c) diminish the area of any State;       (d) alter the boundaries of any State;       (e)  alter  the  name  of any State:       _6[Provided that no Bill for the purpose shall be introduced in either House  of Parliament except on the recommendation of the President and unless,  where  the proposal contained in the Bill affects  the  area, boundaries  or  name  of any of the States _7***, the Bill  has  been referred  by  the  President  to the Legislature  of  that  State  for expressing its views thereon within such period as may be specified in the reference or within such further period as the President may allow and the period so specified or allowed has expired.]       _8[Explanation  I.-In  this  article, in clauses (a) to  (e),  "State" includes  a  Union  territory, but in the proviso,  "State"  does  not include a Union territory.       Explanation  II.- The  power  conferred  on Parliament  by  clause  (a) includes the power to form a new State or Union territory by uniting a part  of  any  State or Union territory to any other  State  or  Union territory.]